R-MA President and Board of Trustees

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Maj Gen Maury Forsyth is the president of Randolph-Macon Academy, a military boarding school in Front Royal, VA.Major General Maurice H. "Maury" Forsyth, USAF, Ret.

Major General Maurice H. “Maury” Forsyth, U.S. Air Force retired, became the 10th president of Randolph-Macon Academy on July 1, 2013.  

Gen Forsyth retired from the Air Force in October 2010, after an impressive military career highlighted with key leadership responsibilities in Air Force professional education systems. Prior to his retirement, he was the Commander of the Curtis E. LeMay Center for Doctrine Development and Education and the Vice Commander of Air University at Maxwell Air Force Base in Alabama. His position previous to that was Commander of Spaatz Center for Officer Education and Commandant of the Air War College, also at Maxwell. 

With training as both a navigator and a pilot, Gen Forsyth has flown more than 3,500 hours, including 730 hours of combat missions. He has served in operations Desert Storm, Southern Watch, Northern Watch, Enduring Freedom, and Iraqi Freedom. His many honors include the Distinguished Service Medal, the Defense Superior Service Medal, the Legion of Merit, the Bronze Star, and the Purple Heart, among others. 

Gen Forsyth was born in Brookings, SD, and was commissioned in 1978. He holds a bachelor’s degree from South Dakota State University, and a master’s degree in aviation and aerospace operations from Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University. In 1999 he completed an additional master’s degree, this one in national security and strategic studies from the Naval War College.  

Board of Trustees

Mr. Joseph F. Silek, Jr., P.C. ‘77, Chairman
Mr. Henry D. Light ’58, Vice Chairman & Secretary 
Mr. Rodney Deane, Jr., Treasurer
Mr. Eric D. Anderson '88
Mr. Harry G. Austin III '75
Ms. Donna J. Bogart P'03, '07
Ms. Suzanne M. Broyhill
Mr. Eric Carlson '73
Mr. Glenn R. Carrington P'08
Ms. Lucy W. Hooper
Mr. Conrad E. Koneczny ‘51
Mr. George D. Mathias ‘54
Mr. David W. Moore,’53
Mr. Alonzo A. Neese P'01
MG David Puster '75
Adm. John D. Stufflebeem '70
Mr. William G. Thomas ‘57

Ex-Officio Members

Bishop Young Jin Cho
Rev. John B. Peters
Rev. Larry R. Thompson
Mrs. H. Scarlett Kibler '89
Ms. Angie Williams P'11, '13, '16